The Constant Sore | A Small Price To Pay For the Name of Health and Fitness


I know it has only been 3 days since I started going to the gym again but I am very much free to voice out the amount of soreness I am feeling. Some people say they feel like crawling into a corner and dying but in my case, it hurts so much that I can’t even entertain the thought of crawling. Hahaha!

Today was shoulder day. And it was Marty Laoang who coached me. I was made to do a series of dumbbell exercises that literally killed my shoulders. My face contorted into weird expressions as I pushed for every single rep.

I love pushing myself to my limit but I think today was over and beyond my current capabilities. But of course I know that strength doesn’t come or develop if you just do easy things or lift chicken weights. It comes when we keep pushing, adding that extra pound, going for that extra repetition. Sadly for me, I was unable to complete the last set of my last exercise (10 repitetition short) because my strength was completely depleted. Marty even had to help me complete the final 5.

Although my body is in pain at the present moment, I actually love this feeling. I love it because I know I did a great job. Yes yes I tore muscles on a microscopic level but that is totally worth it, and that is what this entire process is all about. Once the pain goes away (if it ever does) then that means I have gotten stronger, which means I can go to the next level and push myself again.

Tomorrow will be my last day in he gym for the week. I am going to rest over the weekend. Drink some soy milk and sleep like I have never slept before (maybe get a nice massage).

Workout Log
as tracked in FItocracy.com

Walking (treadmill)
00:25:00 | 2.5 km
Dumbbell Side Lateral Raise
5 lb x 20 reps
6 lb x 20 reps
7 lb x 20 reps (
Front Dumbbell Raise
6 lb x 20 reps
7 lb x 20 reps
8 lb x 20 reps
Seated Dumbbell Shoulder Press
6 lb x 20 reps
7 lb x 20 reps
8 lb x 20 reps
Standing Dumbbell Upright Row
6 lb x 20 reps
7 lb x 20 reps
8 lb x 20 reps
Reverse Flyes
11 lb x 20 reps
11 lb x 20 reps
11 lb x 10 reps

YES! I leveled up in Fitocracy! Level 13 at last! I cant wait to work on leveling up some more! Its so exciting!

Anyway, here are some photos from gym today. Since this time around I don’t have an assistant to take photos of me during my workouts (plus Im too lazy to bring my camera) I resolved on taking photos AFTER the workouts. I know.. I’m lame.

My battle gear!

I am literally in love with these shoes. I don’t really wear rubber shoes because when I do pilates its usually on bear feet so yeah.

Lara Novales in the gym lockers after a great workout

Part of the Eclipse gym in Bacolod

the dumbbells that killed Lara Novales today ^_^

Eclipse boys enthralled with body building show

Eclipse men

Lara Novales with Marty Laoang in Eclipse Gym Bacolod

She looks like Alodia. Marty Laoang and Bernadette

xoxo
Lara Krystle Novales
FACEBOOK | TUMBLR | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | MYFITNESSPAL | FITOCRACY

6 thoughts on “The Constant Sore | A Small Price To Pay For the Name of Health and Fitness

    1. Lara Neko-Chan Post author

      I’m glad that you’re still here. Some of my old wordpress buddies are inactive now. 😦 its nice to have a familiar face in wordpress. The other bloggers don’t really seem to care to interact much. 😦

      xx
      Lara

      Like

      Reply
      1. taltress

        Your blog is a definite follow in my book and I love talking to you on here. I don’t have any people who interact with me too when I comment on their blogs and it’s great that you comment me back 😀

        Like

      2. Lara Post author

        Awwww. But sometimes I take forever to reply. 🙂 BUt I try anyway.
        The whole point of having a health, fitness and diet blog is building community. I like having conversation with you too!

        I hope all is well!

        Like

      3. taltress

        Everything is good. I’m stuck right now because with my freelancing, I haven’t had the time to take care of myself properly but I’m trying. I wish I had a elliptical at my house 😦 But I’m not giving up! 😀 Every time I read your posts it inspires me to keep trying.

        Like

      4. Lara Post author

        Awwww. That is the sweetest thing ever. I feel happy that I am able to help in whatever small way i can.

        I know how hard it is to take of yourself on a busy schedule. Right now I have a hard time eating clean because I need to be able to just grab and go. Though I am still vegetarian there are a load of “vegetarian” food that aren’t excatly healthy, Fries for one. LOL.

        But as long as we still keep getting back up and moving forward then we will get there. Slow and steady wins the race.

        xx
        Lara

        Like

Leave a comment here or email me at mykawaiifitness@gmail.com

